Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content

    Main Campus
   
 
  Apr 22, 2019
 
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2018-2019 
    
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2018-2019

English


Return to School of Humanities and Social Sciences Return to: School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Faculty

Kerri Jordan
Associate Professor (2002)
601.925.3334
jordan01@mc.edu

Susan Lassiter
Assistant Professor (1989)
601.925.3332
lassiter@mc.edu

Kristi Richard Melancon
Assistant Professor (2011)
601.925.3325
kmelancon@mc.edu

David Miller
Associate Professor (1991)
601.925.3336
dmiller@mc.edu

James B. Potts
Associate Professor (2003)
601.925.3331
potts@mc.edu

Steven Price
Professor (2008)
601.925.3333
sprice@mc.edu

Jonathan Randle
Professor (1999)
601.925.3269
randle@mc.edu

Daniel White
Instructor (2012)
601.925.3330
dwhite@mc.edu

Support Staff

Autumn Norman
Administrative Assistant (2015)
601.925.3215
anorman1@mc.edu

 

 

Program Goals

The Department of English stimulates the intellectual development of our students through the production and analysis of diverse texts.  The three undergraduate tracks in the department – Literature, Writing, and English Secondary Education – promote close reading, information literacy, effective communication, and critical thinking.  The department cultivates students who engage thoughtfully in analysis, interpretation, service, and life-long learning as they pursue their vocations.

English Majors and Concentrations

The student electing to major in English may choose from the following options, each of which leads to the Bachelor of Arts Degree: English major with Literature Concentration; English major with Writing Concentration; and English Education major. All degrees require 12 semester hours of a foreign language.

English Minor Requirements

The English Department offers two options for minors: the literature minor and the writing minor. Each option requires 18 semester hours of course work. Course requirements for both minors follow.

Major and Minor Combinations

English majors concentrating in literature may also complete the writing minor, and English majors concentrating in writing may also complete the literature minor. English Education majors are not required to select an additional minor. Credits earned toward a major cannot be applied toward a minor and vice versa. Students majoring in other disciplines may complete a literature minor, a writing minor, or both.

Honors Courses

By invitation of the Honors Council; see Honors Program  section of Undergraduate Catalog.

Programs

    MajorMinor

    Courses

      English

      Return to School of Humanities and Social Sciences Return to: School of Humanities and Social Sciences