Skip to Navigation

    Mississippi College
   
 
  Sep 22, 2017
 
 
    
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2017-2018

Psychology and Counseling


Return to School of Education Return to: School of Education

Faculty

Jan Lemon, Department Chair
Tenure Professor (2011)
601-925-7788
Lemon@mc.edu
 

Janis Booth
Associate Professor (2008)
601.925.3842
jbooth@mc.edu

 

Edith V. Carlisle
Professor (2002)
601.925.3867
ecarlisl@mc.edu

 

Karen D. Cathey-Austin
Assistant Professor (2012)
601-925-7395
kdcatheya@mc.edu
 

Jessica Cole
Clinical Professor (2014)
769-524-4254
jlcole@mc.edu
 

James M. Devlin
Clinical Professor (2014)
769-524-4154
jmdevlin@mc.edu
 

Dawn Minyard Ellison
Director of DPC
Clinical Professor (2014)
769-257-7235
dellison@mc.edu
 

Kenisha W. Gordon
Assistant Professor (2009)
601.925.7221
kgordon@mc.edu
 

Fred L. Hall
Clinical Professor (2012)
769-524-4154
fhall@mc.edu
 

Katherine Heard Grider
Associate Professor (2002)
601.925.3803
kheard@mc.edu
 

Katherine Lois Hilton
Assistant Director of DPC
Clinical Professor (2014)
769-257-7235
hilton@mc.edu
 

Cynthia K. Johnson
Clinical Professor (2014)
601-925-7397
ckjohnson@mc.edu
 

Terrance Zebedee Johnson
Clinical Professor (2012)
769-524-4154
tzjohnson@mc.edu
 

Michael P. Mann
Assistant Chair of Psychology
Associate Professor (2003)
601.925.3820
mmann@mc.edu
 

Maggie M. Parker
Assistant Professor (2013)
601-925-7723
Parker10@mc.edu
 

James Stricikland
Assistant Professor (2017)
 

Robert R. Ward, Jr
Assistant Professor (2004)
601.925.3355
rward@mc.edu

 

Support Staff

Jenny Mehri (2016)
Secretary
601.925.3841
jlmehri@mc.edu
 

Maria Chapman (2015)
Coordinator of Student Services DPC
769-257-7235
MChampon@mc.edu
 

 

Mission

The mission of the Department of Psychology and Counseling undergraduate programs is to help students learn and apply the vast domain of psychological principles that exist in our world today. The goal is for the student to become an effective scientist-practitioner who can model and apply these psychological principles from a Christian perspective.

The department seeks to prepare students for further training and/or entry-level employment into one of the many professional paths available within the discipline.

Admission

Requirements for the undergraduate psychology major:

The undergraduate psychology major is designed primarily as preparation for graduate study, and most graduate schools require at least a 3.00 GPA for admission. Thus, it is not advisable to enter this major without a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher, and one should not continue in the program without maintaining a GPA above 2.5 in the major field.

Additional Requirements: Students majoring in psychology should meet with their psychology advisors in selecting appropriate minors and other elective coursework.

Honors Courses

By invitation of the Honors Council; see Honors Program  section of Undergraduate Catalog.

Programs

    MajorMinor

    Courses

      Psychology

      Return to School of Education Return to: School of Education