Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content

    Mississippi College
   
 
  Jul 02, 2022
 
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2015-16 
    
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2015-16 [Archived Catalog]

Chemistry and Biochemistry


Return to School of Science and Mathematics Return to: School of Science and Mathematics

Faculty

Jack Clinton Bailey, II, Chair
Associate Professor (1999)
601.925.3338
bailey@mc.edu

Dean Parks
Professor (1969)
601.925.3426
dparks@mc.edu

David Magers
Professor(1989)
601.925.3851
magers@mc.edu

Leland Benton
Assistant Professor (1997)
601.925.3853
lbenton@mc.edu

Trent Selby
Assistant Professor (2009)
601.925.7665
selby@mc.edu

Willa Williams
Assistant Professor (2010)
601.925.3425
willia77@mc.edu

Dale A. Rosado, Jr.
Assistant Professor (2011)
601.925.3424
rosado@mc.edu

Support Staff

Tina Reeves
Secretary (2004)
601.925.3223
treeves@mc.edu

Program Goals

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry offers courses to meet the needs of three types of students: those who are non-science majors, but who desire the subject for its cultural and educational values, and for meeting the science requirement for graduation (CHE 141 - General Chemistry I  and CHE 142 - General Chemistry II  or CHE 111 - Chemistry in American Life I  and CHE 112 - Chemistry in American Life II  will meet this requirement); those who plan to enter the professional schools of medicine, medical technology, nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, or allied health; and those who plan to enter graduate school for further study, or to enter the field of industrial chemistry.

Mission

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry is committed to offering the best chemistry education possible by maintaining an active and integrated research program, by using modern laboratory experiences with current instrumentation, and by providing an inclusive, supportive, and professional environment which allows and encourages students to develop to their full potential.

Laboratory Breakage

Students are responsible for equipment broken in the laboratory. Cost of the material broken must be paid for before examinations can be taken.

Honors Courses

By invitation of the Honors Council; see Honors Program  section of Undergraduate Catalog.

Programs

    MajorMinor

    Courses

      Chemistry and Biochemistry

      Return to School of Science and Mathematics Return to: School of Science and Mathematics