Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content

    Mississippi College
   
 
  Jul 02, 2022
 
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2015-16 
    
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2015-16 [Archived Catalog]

Biological Sciences


Return to School of Science and Mathematics Return to: School of Science and Mathematics

Faculty

Stan Baldwin, Dean of the School of Science and Mathematics
Professor (1999)
601.925.3321
sbaldwin@mc.edu

Beth Ann Dunigan, Chair
Associate Professor (1999)
601.925.3972
dunigan@mc.edu

Bill Stark
Sadler Professor (1976)
601.925.3340
stark@mc.edu

Elizabeth Brandon
Assistant Professor (2008)
601.925.7764
ebrandon@mc.edu

Joe Graves
Visiting Professor (2003)
601.925.7291
jgraves@mc.edu

Stephanie Carmicle
Assistant Professor (2010)
601.925.3872
carmicle@mc.edu

Angela Reiken
Assistant Professor (2010)
601.925.7783
reinken@mc.edu

Frank Hensley
Associate Professor (2011)
601.925.7355
fhensley@mc.edu

Jerry Reagan
Associate Professor (2012)
601.925.3579
reagan@mc.edu

Erin Norcross
Assistant Professor (2012)
601.925.3936
norcross@mc.edu

Joseph Kazery
Instructor (2013)
601.925.7392
kazery@mc.edu

John Piletz
Professor (2013)
601.925.7818
jpiletz@mc.edu

Erick Bourassa
Assistant Professor (2014)
601.925.3300

Nathan Tullos
Assistant Professor (2014)
601.925.3300

Erick Bourassa
Assistant Professor (2014)
601.925.7817
Eabourassa@mc.edu

Nathan Tullos
Assistant Professor (2014)
601.925.3495
natullos@mc.edu

Hanna Broome
Assistant Professor
601-925.7354
hbroome@mc.edu

Support Staff

Mary Beth Graves
Secretary (1992)
601.925.7753
mgraves@mc.edu

Sue Caldwell
Secretary (2010)
601.925.3300
scaldwell@mc.edu

Program Goals

It is the intent of the Department of Biological Sciences to effectively train students in such a manner that they have a realistic chance of achieving their goals of going to medical school, dental school, a physician’s assistant program, graduate school, becoming a teacher, or entering an allied health science program for training to become a physical therapist, occupational therapist, medical technologist, etc. Additionally, it is the intent of the department that some biology majors participate in an undergraduate research project.

Program Objectives

  1. Students graduating as biology majors will compare favorably in their knowledge of biology subject matter as compared with students graduating from other colleges and universities in the United States.
  2. Students majoring in biology will be satisfied with their academic experience, which includes academic advising and quality of instruction received from faculty members in the department
  3. Students completing the premedical/pre-dental program will be successful in gaining admission to medical school and dental school. Students completing the pre-physical therapy, pre-medical technology, and pre-physician’s assistant programs will be successful in gaining admission to the appropriate programs. Students preparing to teach biology will be successful in getting state certification/license to teach. Students preparing for graduate work in biology will be successful in gaining admission to graduate school.
  4. Students will have adequate opportunity to engage in research opportunities.

Gulf Coast Research Laboratory

The Mississippi College Department of Biological Sciences is affiliated with the University of Southern Mississippi, Institute of Marine Sciences, Gulf Coast Research Laboratory (GCRL). Through this facility a student may take courses in marine biology. Research and independent study are also available through GCRL. For a description of the courses and additional information on the program, contact the chair of the Department of Biological Sciences. Most courses at GCRL are offered only in the summer.

BIO 370  Introduction to Marine Zoology Credit, 4 sem. hrs.
BIO 372  Marine Biology Credit, 5 sem. hrs.
BIO 472  Coastal Vegetation Credit, 5. sem. hrs.
BIO 473  Salt Marsh Plant Ecology Credit, 4 sem. hrs.
BIO 474  Aquarium Management Credit, 3-6 sem. hrs.
BIO 475  Comparative Histology of Marine Fishes Credit, 6 sem. hrs.
BIO 476  Marine Ichthyology Credit, 6 sem. hrs.
BIO 477  Maine Mammals Credit, 5 sem. hrs.
BIO 478  Marine Phycology Credit, 4 sem. hrs.
BIO 479  Applications of Biotechnology in Marine Biology Credit, 6 sem. hrs.
BIO 481  Marine Invertebrate Zoology Credit, 5 sem. hrs.
BIO 482  Fauna and Faunistic Ecology of Tidal Marshes, Seagrasses and Sandy Beaches Credit, 5 sem. hrs.
BIO 485  Marine Vertebrate Zoology Credit, 5 sem. hrs.
BIO 487  Marine Ecology Credit, 5 sem. hrs.
BIO 498  Parasites of Marine Animals Credit, 6 sem. hrs.

 

Honors Courses

By invitation of the Honors Council; see Honors Program  section of Undergraduate Catalog.

Programs

    MajorMinor

    Courses

      Biological Sciences

      Return to School of Science and Mathematics Return to: School of Science and Mathematics