Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content

    Main Campus
  Nov 27, 2022
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2020-2021 [Archived Catalog]

College of Arts and Sciences

Mission and History

The College of Arts and Sciences consists of three schools: the School of Christian Studies and the Arts, the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the School of Science and Mathematics. They offer students a liberal arts education reflecting both academic excellence and Christian concern and commitment. Course offerings in the College of Arts and Sciences provide students with a broad general education as well as in-depth knowledge in particular majors. This combination is designed to equip students not only with career training, but also with an appreciation and understanding of cultural achievements and religious values and with the literacy skills necessary for lifelong learning. Each school provides students with a strong background for post-baccalaureate concentration in graduate school or professional studies.

The academic programs in the College of Arts and Sciences prepare students for such careers as those of pastor, director of religious education, minister of music, artist, journalist, chemist, biologist, physicist, mathematician, computer science specialist, social scientist, historian, social worker, teacher, writer, linguist, mass media specialist, interior designer, graphic designer, paralegal or law enforcement official. In addition, pre-professional training is provided for careers in medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, physical therapy, optometry, medical technology, nursing, law and veterinary medicine. The Department of Christian Studies and Philosophy also gives excellent preparation to many students who will attend our Southern Baptist seminaries.


In serving both the general and specific educational needs of students in the university, the College of Arts and Sciences is guided by three major objectives:

  1. To provide a broad foundation of learning in the arts, humanities, and sciences and to promote critical thinking, problem solving, written and oral communication and research skills.
  2. To provide in-depth knowledge in a wide range of academic disciplines leading directly or indirectly to both career opportunities and enhanced understanding of human society and culture.
  3. To provide a sound academic base in the arts and sciences for further study in professional and graduate schools and seminaries.


The College of Arts and Sciences has a unique history. It is both the oldest and the newest of the schools that make up Mississippi College. It includes those fields of learning which have traditionally constituted a university education and which were the whole curriculum of Mississippi College until relatively late in its history. By the early twentieth century, as human knowledge became more specialized and skilled professions became more complex, Mississippi College, along with most other colleges and universities, added courses of study directed toward preparation for specific professions, such as teaching or business; it also helped students to tailor their pre-professional studies in the broad areas of liberal learning and in preparation for professional studies in such fields as medicine and law.

In 1969, with the establishment of the School of Nursing, Mississippi College began the systematic development of a university structure. New or existing programs were formed into separate, though related, schools of business, education, law, and graduate studies. In 1982, the restructuring was completed by combining the academic areas of Fine Arts, Humanities, Christian Studies, Social Sciences, and Science and Mathematics into the College of Arts and Sciences.


The three schools in the College of Arts and Sciences represent twelve departments:

  • Art
  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Christian Studies and Philosophy
  • Communication
  • Engineering, Computer Science and Physics
  • English and Philosophy
  • Modern Languages
  • History and Political Science
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Sociology and Social Work.

Graduate Programs

Graduate study is offered in the College of Arts and Sciences leading to the following degrees: Master of Arts, Master of Fine Arts, Master of Science, Master of Social Sciences, Master of Liberal Studies, Master of Combined Sciences, Master of Computer Science, and Master of Music. Students should refer to the Graduate Catalog and the appropriate academic department regarding specific requirements for these degrees.

Honors College

The Honors College at Mississippi College develops student leaders committed to academic excellence, spiritual maturity, and civic engagement. It offers a vibrant learning community dedicated to meaningful reflection, faithful citizenship, and servant leadership. Students learn to translate knowledge into wisdom as they think deeply on enduring themes and important questions. They are encouraged to imitate Christ, cultivate virtue, and pursue human flourishing. Students are challenged to see love of neighbor as foundational to their calling and leadership in careers, communities, and churches.The Honors College Council is chaired by Dr. Erin Norcross of the Department of Biology.

Junior and Senior Departmental Honors Program

Mississippi College offers a flexible series of enhancements for self-motivated students. Upperclassmen who maintain a high grade point average may participate in Senior Honors Seminar (IDS 464  ). Additionally, successful completion of the three semester long Junior-Senior Honors Reading and Research Program leads to a degree “With Honors” or “With High Honors.” For more information see Junior and Senior Departmental Honors Program   Section of Undergraduate Catalog.

School of Christian Studies and the Arts

Go to information for School of Christian Studies and the Arts.  

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Go to information for School of Humanities and Social Sciences.  

School of Science and Mathematics

Go to information for School of Science and Mathematics.