The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

    Mississippi College
   
 
  Nov 22, 2017
 
 
    
GRADUATE CATALOG 2016-2017 [Archived Catalog]

Academic Calendar


 


 



One Hundred Ninety First Session 2016-2017

Fall Semester 2016

August 20, Saturday Residence halls open for new freshmen and transfers
   
August 21, Sunday, 2:00 p.m. Residence halls open for returning students
   
August 22, Monday Orientation / Registration for new undergraduate students; Registration of night students (4-6 pm)
   
August 22, Monday

NIGHT CLASSES, ADP SESSION I CLASSES, ONLINE 8-WEEK SESSION I CLASSES AND  3-5 CR HR DAY CLASSES SCHEDULED ONCE A WEEK MEET

   
August 23, Tuesday SCIENCE LABS MEET
   
August 23, Tuesday NIGHT CLASSES AND 3-5 CR HR DAY CLASSES SCHEDULED ONCE A WEEK MEET
   
August 24, Wednesday Last day to Enroll or Add an ADP Session I or Online 8-week Session I Class
   
August 24, Wednesday DAY CLASSES BEGIN
   
August 30, Tuesday, 5:00 p.m. LAST DAY TO ADD OR ENROLL IN A FULL SEMESTER CLASS (Traditional or Online)
   
August 30, Tuesday LAST DAY TO DROP AN ADP SESSION I OR ONLINE 8-WEEK SESSION I CLASS with 100% TUITION ONLY Refund
   
September 1, Thursday LAST DAY TO DROP A FULL SEMESTER CLASS WITH 100% TUITION ONLY REFUND
   
September 2, Friday Priority Deadline for ALL Degree Applications for December 2016 Graduation
   
September 5, Monday Labor Day Holiday, No Day or Night Classes Meet; Offices Closed
   
September 23, Friday Last Day To Drop an ADP Session I or Online 8-Week Session I class (No Tuition Refund)
   
October 5, Wednesday, 3:00 p.m. or 6:00 p.m., Anderson Hall Writing Proficiency Exam
   
October 12, Wednesday Mid-term
   
October 13, Thursday Last Class Meeting and Exam for Session I ADP, Online 8-Week Session I Classes End/Exams Close
   
October 15, Saturday Homecoming
   
October 17, Monday Classes Begin for ADP Session II and Online 8-Week Session II
   
October 19, Wednesday Last day to Enroll in or Add ADP Session II and Online 8-week Session II Classes
   
October 24-25, Monday - Tuesday Fall Break; No Day or Night Classes
   
October 25, Tuesday Last Day to Drop an ADP Session II or Online 8-week Session II Class with 100% TUITION ONLY Refund
   
October 26, Wednesday Day and night classes resume
   
October 28, Friday LAST DAY TO DROP A FULL SEMESTER CLASS (No refund)
   
October 31, Monday

Registration begins for Spring 2017 Semester - Currently enrolled students

   
November 4, Friday Participation deadline for ALL Degree Applications for December 2016 Graduation
  (In order to participate in December 2016 Commencement, candidates MUST apply by this deadline)
   
November 14, Monday Registration Begins for Spring 2017 Semester - Re-admitted and New Graduate Students
   
November 18, Friday Last Day To Drop an ADP Session II or Online 8-Week Session II Class (No Refund)
   
November 22-27, Tuesday Night (begins 5:00 p.m.) through Sunday Thanksgiving Holiday
(Day classes meet on Tuesday; night classes do not meet; residence halls close at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, & reopen at 2 p.m. on Sunday)
 
November 28, Monday Classes resume
   
December 5-7, Monday - Wednesday Dead Days
   
December 7, Wednesday Last day of Day classes; Night exams begin
   
December 8, Thursday Study Day
   
December 9-14, Friday, Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Final Exams
(Residence Halls close Thursday, Dec. 15, at 9:00 AM for all except seniors; close for seniors Saturday, Dec. 17, at 9:00 AM)
   
December 12, Monday Last Class Meeting/Exams for ADP Session II Classes, Online 8-Week Session II Classes End/Exams Close
   
December 16, Friday Graduation

Spring Semester 2017

January 5, Thursday, 2:00 p.m Residence Halls Open
   
January 6, Friday Orientation / Advising for new undergraduate students
   
January 9, Monday Day, Night, ADP Session I and Online 8-Week Session I Classes Begin
   
January 11, Wednesday Last Day to Enroll or Add an ADP Session I or Online 8-Week Session I Class
   
January 13, Friday Priority Deadline for ALL Degree Applications for May 2017 Graduation
   
January 16, Monday Martin Luther King Holiday, No Day or Night Classes; Offices Closed
   
January 17, Tuesday, 5:00 p.m. Last Day To Enroll or Add a Full-Semester Class
   
January 17, Tuesday Last Day to Drop an ADP Session I or Online 8-Week Session I Class with 100% Tuition Only Refund
   
January 19, Thursday Last Day To Drop a Full-Semester Class with 100% Tuition Only Refund
   
February 10, Friday Last Day to Drop an ADP Session I or Online 8-Week Session I Class (No Tuition Refund)
   
March 1, Wednesday, 3:00 p.m. or 6:00 p.m., Anderson Hall Writing Proficiency Exam… MIDTERM
   
March 2, Thursday Last Class Meeting and Exam for Session I ADP, Online 8-Week Session I Classes End/Exams Close
   
March 10-19, Monday through Sunday Spring Break
(Day classes meet on Friday, March 10. Residence halls close at 9:00 am on Saturday and reopen Sunday, March 19, 2:00 p.m.)
March 20, Monday Classes Resume
   
March 20, Monday ADP Session II and Online 8-Week Session II Classes Begin
   
March 22, Wednesday Last Day to enroll or Add an ADP Session II or Online 8-Week Session II Class
   
March 28, Tuesday Last Day to Drop an ADP Session II or Online 8-Week Session II Class with 100% Tuition Refund
   
March 24, Friday LAST DAY TO DROP A FULL-SEMESTER CLASS (No Tuition Refund)
   
March 31, Friday Participation Deadline for ALL Degree Applications for May 2017 Graduation
  (In order to participate in May 2017 Commencement, candidates MUST apply by this deadline)
   
April 10, Monday Registration for Summer and Fall 2017 Semester Begins -Currently enrolled students
   
April 17, Monday (No day classes; night classes will meet) Easter Holiday - Day classes do not meet; Night classes will meet; Offices Closed
   
April 21, Friday Last Day to Drop an ADP Session II or Online 8-Week Session II Class (No Tuition Refund)
   
April 24, Monday Registration Begins for Summer and Fall 2017 Semesters for Readmitted Students and New Graduate Students
   
April 24-26, Monday-Wednesday Dead Days
   
April 26, Wednesday Last day of classes; night exams begin
   
April 27, Thursday Study Day
   
April 28-May 3, Friday, Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Final exams
(Residence halls close Thursday, May 4, at 9 AM for all except seniors; close for seniors Saturday, May 7, at 5 PM)
   
May 1, Monday Last Class Meeting and Exam for Session II ADP
   
May 3, Wednesday Online 8-Week Session II Classes End/Exams Close
   
May 5-6, Friday and Saturday Graduate and Undergraduate May Graduations

Fall and Spring Administrative Office Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 pm.
2017 Summer Term (Tentative Dates)

May Term:
May 8-19, 2017
10-Week Session:
May 30-August 4, 2017

1st 5-Week Session:
May 30-June 29, 2017

2nd 5-Week Session: July 3-August 4, 2017

  Graduation - August 5, 2017
 
Check BANNER WEB Frequently for Schedule Changes