Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content

    Mississippi College
  Dec 01, 2022
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2016-2017 [Archived Catalog]

School of Education


Don W. Locke, Dean
Professor (1998)

Support Staff

Shirley J. Tipton
Executive Secretary to the
Dean, (2003)


The mission of the Mississippi College School of Education is to provide a caring Christian environment which facilitates the acquisition of knowledge in the behavioral sciences, teaching and learning, and health and human sciences. The School of Education provides the general education, professional studies, field and clinical experience, research skill development, and technological foundation required for each graduate and undergraduate program. These components generate the knowledge, dispositions, and skills necessary to render appropriate services to God and others in a professional environment while meeting all local, state and national performance standards.


The roots of today’s School of Education date from the establishment of the Bachelor of Science in Education degree in 1950. This degree was followed by the Master of Education in 1954, the Educational Specialist in 1974, the Doctor of Education in 2008 and the Doctor of Professional Counseling in 2012.  The School of Education was formed in 1977 from the Divisions of Education, Psychology, and Physical Education.

The School of Education is housed in Lowrey Hall which was renovated in 2005 and in Cockroft Hall which was completed in 1976. The School of Education has been a member of the American Association for Colleges of Teacher Education (AACTE) since 1957 and in 1961 was the second institution in Mississippi to be accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)/Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). Counseling Programs received accreditation by the Council for the Accreditation of Counseling in Related Educational Programs (CACREP) in 2001.  The Dyslexia Therapy Program was accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council (IMSLEC) in 2008 and The International Dyslexia Association in 2014.

The School of Education currently houses the Departments of Kinesiology, Psychology and Counseling, and Teacher Education and Leadership.