The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

    Mississippi College
   
 
  Sep 19, 2017
 
 
    
UNDERGRADUATE CATALOG 2014-2015 [Archived Catalog]

School of Business


Dean

Marcelo Eduardo, Dean
Professor (1997)
601.925.3420
eduardo@mc.edu

Michele Ricker, Assistant Dean
Advisor and Coordinator (2009)
601.925.3925
mricker@mc.edu

Support Staff

Shea Elkins
Administrative Assistant to Dean
(1976)
601.925.3214
elkins@mc.edu

Racquel Walker
Administrative Assistant and Marketing Coordinator
(2012)
601.925.7749
rwalker@mc.edu

Faculty

Nancy L. Anderson
Assistant Professor (2008)
601.925.7094
nanderso@mc.edu

Tammy Y. Arthur
Associate Professor (2005)
601.925.3414
arthur@mc.edu

Sheree Corkern
Assistant Professor (1986)
601.925.3422
corkern@mc.edu

Robert Michael Cudd
Professor (2003)
601.925.3974
cudd@mc.edu

Marcelo Eduardo
Professor (1997)
601.925-3420
eduardo@mc.edu

Kristena Gaylor
Assistant Professor (2012)
601.925.3214
gaylor@mc.edu

Bryan Hayes
Associate Professor (2000)
601.925.3816
bhayes@mc.edu

Sara Kimmel
Assistant Professor (2010)
601.925.7774
kimmel@mc.edu

Mark McComb
Associate Professor (1996)
601.925.3947
mccomb@mc.edu

Mark Morgan
Assistant Professor (2006)
601.925.3896
morgan@mc.edu

Billy Morehead
Associate Professor (2011)
601-925-3214
morehead@mc.edu

Debbie Norris
Associate Professor (1984)
601.925.3260
dnorris@mc.edu

Sandra Parks
Assistant Professor (1976)
601.925.3417
sparks@mc.edu

Kevin Pauli
Associate Professor (2007)
601.925.7734
pauli@mc.edu

Robert Perkins
Assistant Professor (2013)
601.925.3214
rperkins@mc.edu

Brooks Poole
Instructor (2009)
601.925.3885
vpoole@mc.edu

Retha Price
Assistant Professor (2006)
601.925.7744
rprice@mc.edu

Charles Randle
Instructor (2014)
crandle@mc.edu

Randall Robbins
Professor (1984)
601.925.3416
rrobbins@mc.edu

Lloyd Roberts
Professor (1982)
601.925.3461
lroberts@mc.edu

Charles Edgar Sentell
Associate Professor (1998)
601.925.3418
sentell@mc.edu

Christopher Smith
Instructor (2008)
601.925.3412
csmith@mc.edu

Stephen Trouard
Assistant Professor (2007)
601.925.7735
trouard@mc.edu

Rice P. York, Jr.
Professor (2003)
601.925.3419
ryork@mc.edu

History

What is now the School of Business began in 1946 when an instructor was given permission to teach non-credit typing and shorthand courses in the basement of Chrestman Hall. The success in the non-credit courses inspired the institution to appoint a full-time business professor and add several business courses. By 1955, the business department had four full-time faculty members and a major. In the fall of 1959, the institution combined the Department of Business and the Department of Economics into the Division of Business and Economics. After consolidation, the division had 200 majors and five full-time faculty members.

In the early 1960s, the division added accounting courses to its curriculum. Also the division began offering evening courses. Students responded favorably to the additional courses and the evening offerings, and the division began experiencing double-digit growth. In 1964, the institution constructed Self Hall. Most of the building was dedicated to the Division of Business. In 1967, the Division of Business added the Master of Business Administration targeted at metropolitan-area professionals seeking an evening graduate program. The program was an immediate success.

The Division of Business continued growing, and in 1975, the Division became the School of Business. All of this was due to the tremendous dedication of Dr. D. Gray Miley.

Mission and Goals

The Mississippi College School of Business mission is to provide a quality business education in a Christian environment.

We serve undergraduate and graduate students from the region providing a setting where Christian values are emphasized through ethical awareness, biblical principles and a supportive faculty.

In this environment, the school seeks to prepare students with a sound understanding of essential business principles, effective communication skills, and an appreciation for social responsibility and ethical values.

The school is committed to academic quality through effective teaching, relevant programs, and faculty scholarship through contributions to practice, learning and pedagogy, and discipline-based research.

Accreditation

Mississippi College, through its School of Business, is nationally accredited by the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs to offer the following business degrees:

The Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (B.S.B.A.).
The Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.).

Facilities

The School of Business Administration is housed in Self Hall on the Mississippi College campus. This building was made possible by a grant of funds from the Self Foundation of Marks, Mississippi. The building has the office space, classrooms, seminar rooms, laboratories and equipment necessary to provide the implementation of quality educational programs.

Undergraduate Programs

The School of Business Administration offers programs of study leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science (B.S.B.A.) in Business Administration. Within this degree, majors are available in Accounting, Business Administration, Marketing, and Finance.

Also, the School of Business has jointly with the School of Education a Bachelor of Science in Education.

Transfer Student Requirement

At least 50 percent of transfer student’s 300-400-level business courses required for their business degree must be taken at Mississippi College.

Double Majors in Business

Students wishing to earn two business majors within their BSBA can do so by completing the requirements for one degree and one major (130 hours) plus completing the requirements for their second major (21 or 24 hours depending on the major). The minimum number of hours required for a double major in business is 151 or 154 hours.

Minors

The School of Business offers minors in Business Administration, Marketing, Accounting, Finance and International Business. Business majors may choose a minor in any of these areas in which they do not major.

European Study

The School of Business at Mississippi College recommends that students utilize their elective courses to study in Europe during the summer through its membership in a consortium. The center in Vienna, Austria, offers a three-week course (3 hours credit) in international business followed by the five-week courses offered in London, England, with an international emphasis in accounting, economics, finance, insurance, management, and marketing (3 to 6 hours credit). The schedule is structured to encourage study in both Vienna and London although students may choose either.

Information and applications can be obtained in the Business School Administration Office in Self Hall, Telephone: 601.925.3214.

Certificate Program

The purpose of a certificate program is to provide an area of concentration in the School of Business for individuals with a bachelor’s degree. Persons wishing to change their career or acquire additional skills may be interested in this type of program. Upon completion, a certificate will be awarded and recorded on the transcript. A certificate program is offered in accounting.

Graduate Programs

Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)

The M.B.A. program consists of thirty semester hours of graduate work and is offered at night. The program was designed for persons who are working and wish to continue their education at night.

In addition to the traditional M.B.A. described above, an M.B.A. with an Accounting Concentration is offered for students with an interest in advanced work in the field of accounting. Those planning to take the C.P.A. exam may complete the required courses and hours with this program. An MBA with a Finance concentration is also offered for students with an interest in advanced work in the field of Finance.

A joint J.D./M.B.A. is offered as an option for Mississippi College School of Law students. It has been designed especially for a person who wishes to complete both degrees while attending law school.

Master of Education (M.Ed.)

The School of Business Administration and the School of Education offer a joint program leading to a Master of Education degree with a major in Business Education. Education and general business courses required to earn this degree are offered in both the day and evening schedules. Business education courses are offered primarily during the summer session and in the evenings. 

Programs

Bachelor of Science in Business Administration

Bachelor of Science in Education

Minor

Certificate

Courses

Accounting

Economics

Finance

General Business

Management

Management Information Systems

Marketing